Piracy and DRM

I know I’m months late to the party, but Chuck Wendig asked on his blog what we authors thought about piracy. I feel pirates will always find a way to circumvent DRM and all it does is prevent people who have legitimately purchased from using your book however they choose. I have a kindle and an iPad. I have to strip out the DRM when transferring a purchased book to my iPad. Proponents of DRM respond with ‘why not just install the kindle app in your iPad?’ because the kindle app sucks. Because my wife wants to use the kindle while I’m at class. DRM is like offering someone a steak dinner and advising them they can only eat at a certain seat at their table, only use a plastic knife and fork, only eat at a specific time, and can’t have anyone else sitting at the same table.  None of my books are crippled with DRM. DRM does not work. The sooner publishers learn this, the easier reading will be.
About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degree in Computer Systems and Applications and is currently attending Northern Arizona University. View all posts by Mark Gardner

Leave a Reply

