Target Acquired

I’ve mentioned I’m writing another story. It’s different because I’m writing it from first-person past tense limited perspective. I’ve also accepted a dare and not only written the whole thing out of order, but it is an extremely violent story. Originally the concept was a sequel to Forlorn Hope, but it has taken on a life of it’s own. I normally write a novella and a pair of short stories during the summer, but this new story is already around 6,000 words. The main story will likely finish over 10,000 with the prologue, interludes and epilogue making it between 12,000 and 15,000 words.

The same event I attended where this new story became full fledged, I also decided how to finish the story I shelved in order to work on Forlorn Hope. I already had about 5,000 words written when I was unsure if it was going to be a sequel to Body Rentals. A moderate rewrite is needed to bring it into the new outline. I’m also gonna write it from a first person perspective. It only makes sense to do so based on the direction of the story. 

I hope it doesn’t get much larger than 10,000 words, but we will see. It looks like summer 2013 will produce a novella and two novelettes. Classes start on 2013-07-30 so that gives me only four weeks to finish both stories.

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

Leave a Reply

