Beyond Forlorn Hope

I mentioned in another post I was working on a short story based on a flash fiction challenge I did. Well the project has been progressing. It looks as if it will be around 6,000 words. The plan is to do part two at another 6,000 words. I have a very rough idea about part two, but did extensive outlining for part one. I also outlined the dystopian story that was originally supposed to follow Forlorn Hope, but I discovered something: I hate writing a story I’ve outlined.
I lost interest with Escape (Not the actual title, or even the working title, but I need to refer to it somehow.) I was totally pumped about the three scenes I’ve mentioned before. I had difficulty writing the rest. Fortunately, two or three chapters managed to write themselves, but two of them were like pulling teeth. I assumed since it was my first attempt at writing in the first person perspective and since the story itself was pretty much a series or escalating dares, It had somehow become ‘not my project.’
When I started outlining Truth Be Told (also not the title) I discovered it was the outline that I didn’t like. I felt constrained. It became a writing assignment. I’ve been attending classes nonstop since Spring 2009. Four and a half years later, I have done hundreds of writing assignments. I’ve hated each and every one of them. I’ve done well, but they were all agonizing. I suspect the outline shifts my mindset from writing for fun to get a story out there to a structured writing assignment. Go figure.
Everything up to and including Forlorn Hope has been a stream of consciousness style of writing. It ended up with massive rewrites and the insertion of earlier text to foreshadow and validate later plot points. I thought outlining would require less of those rewrites. It only made me hate writing.
Part One of Truth Be Told is about sixty percent complete despite the outline. I plan on finishing Escape, but I will be completely deleting the outline. I’ve also deleted the outlines for parts one and two for Truth Be Told.
I’m now outline free and it feels so good.
About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

Leave a Reply

