Homemade Mayonnaise

homemade-mayo

I need some advice from you foodies out there. Last week I was lamenting to a coworker about my last attempt to hand-whisk some homemade mayonnaise. I had thirty bucks in my pocket and considered picking up an immersion blender for less forearm pain. She advised me she had picked up an immersion blender years ago and never used it. She offered to lend it to me indefinitely.

I made a batch yesterday after work. It’s light on flavor though. It was too thin, so I added another egg. Yep, made it thinner. I ended up adding a LOT of vegetable oil to thicken it. My daughter and I are the only ones who eat mayonnaise in my household. She likes the flavor of Hellman’s. I’d like to stop purchasing store-bought mayo, but in order to make that happen, my homemade mayo needs to be a decent approximation of Hellman’s. Any suggestions?

My mayonnaise recipe:

  • 1 medium egg (yolk and white)
  • 1 cup of vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon French’s mustard
  • 1 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 1 pinch of white table salt
  • I mix everything but the oil. When I was whisking by hand, I skip the egg white and add a teaspoon of water. Then I add the oil slowly. I usually end up adding more oil to thicken. I suspect it would be easy to cut down on the oil to make it thinner and turn it into ranch dressing, but I haven’t tried.

    About Mark Gardner

    Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

    Leave a Reply

