My Own Monster

#FFC52

#FFC52 I typed this up on my phone so hopefully the errors are minimal. 499 words for TiV’s 31st prompt:

“Kitty! Kitty Purry!”

Kathryn looked around her room. Where is that damned cat? She thought to herself.

“Ms. Hudson, it’s time to go.”

“But, Jeff, Kitty Purry is missing!”

Jeff paused. “When did you see your cat last?”

“Last Friday night.”

“Are you sure?”

“Trust in me.”

“Okay. I’ll look around.”

“A cup of coffee.”

Jeff furrowed his brow. “Pardon?”

“I want coffee, but…” Her voice trailed off.

“But what, Ms. Hudson?”

“It takes two.” She said quietly.

Jeff walked to Kathryn’s side. “I can help you, but what about your cat?”

“Roar!”

Jeff smiled. “Cats don’t roar!” He could hardly keep the mirth from his voice.

Kathryn’s lips pressed together tightly. “I used to have a cat.” She looked into Jeff’s eyes. “Her name was Kitty Purry.” She smiled and her eyes lit up while talking about her cat. “I miss her so.”

“What happened to Kitty Purry?”

“She’s the one that got away.” Kathryn sighed and stared at her lap mournfully. “Part of me wonders what to do when there’s nothing left.”

Jeff stood abruptly. “Maybe you should rest for a little while.”

“But.” Kathryn looked out a window. “But, it’s still light out and I’m wide awake.”

“A nap then?”

Kathryn smiled. “Okay, but I’m holding you responsible. I better not find myself waking up in Vegas.”

“Don’t worry, Ms. Hudson.” He helped Kathryn lie on her bed. “I’ll watch over you.”

Kathryn let her eyelids flutter closed as Jeff walked to a door, swiped a card, stepped through and closed it behind him.

***

“I know you have her!”

“Ms. Hudson. I don’t know what you’re talking about! Please come down from there!”

Kathryn stood on her dresser waving a slice of bread at a bewildered Jeff. “Choose your battles, little man. I recognize your handwriting.”

“Ms. Hudson, I haven’t written anything on your bread.”

Kathryn stared at the bread squished in her hand. “Where’s the ransom note?

A woman dressed the same as Jeff came through the door. “Jeff. Perhaps you should step outside. Give Ms. Hudson and me some time alone.”

Jeff retreated towards the door. Before he could swipe his access card, Kathryn threw her bread at him. “If we ever meet again…” She made a slicing motion across her throat with her fingertips. Jeff quickly stepped through the door and made sure it latched.

***

Jeff took a long drag on his cigarette and blew out twin streams of smoke from his nose.

“I heard you had an encounter with our facility’s diva.”

Jeff looked toward the approaching figure. “Hey Bree. I try to be understanding, with her being famous and all…”

Bree laughed out loud. “I don’t think so. Kathryn Hudson has been a patient here since 1995. She was admitted just after her eleventh birthday. She told you about her singing career?”

Jeff nodded.

“I really wish she had the career she thinks she had. Maybe her world would be better for it.”

Jeff squashed his cigarette and followed Bree back into the facility.

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

17 responses to “My Own Monster

Leave a Reply

