We All Scream…

IMG_2741

….For ice cream! I think I’ve mentioned it in this blog before, but using that search thingy is just too much effort. We love ice cream. Years ago, we received, as a gift, an ice cream mega ball. It’s a blast rolling the ball and burning those calories to offset the ice cream calories. I wouldn’t use this thing on concrete or anything and you can see the pillow protecting my shins. I mandate that only those that participate in the rolling are allowed to partake in the resulting ice cream.

 

IMG_0585

If you find yourself in possession of one of these contraptions, here’s some free advice: Make half the recipe. I have the 1 quart, “Mega” ball and halving negates the need to scrape the ice cream and replenish the ice and rock salt halfway through the process. We just roll this thing for forty minutes and enjoy.

IMG_0586

Here’s my recipe for the 1 quart version:
1 pint of milk product (I use 2% milk for the convenience)
1 teaspoon of flavoring (I picked up a four pack somewhere – check your flavor instructions)
half a cup of stevia or sugar.
Add any additional items (shredded coconut is nice with chocolate flavoring. Don’t use full-sized chocolate chips, they’ll break your teeth.)

I put all the ingredients in, seal it, then shake it. Next I add ice and half a cup of rock salt to the other side. Next, forty minutes of rolling. Finally, I scrape the sides down with a wooden spoon and serve. Protect your shins!

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

3 responses to “We All Scream…

Leave a Reply

