Hiatus Concluded

Some of you may have noticed I’ve not been posting the last two weeks or so. It’s a combination of being busy with life, school and work paired with burnout. (Not the game, if it were, the ‘B’ would be capitalized. Besides, it has been forever since Burnout Paradise was released.) I’ve never thought of myself as someone prone to depression, but I do have occasional bouts of ‘meh.’ I just don’t feel like doing anything or interacting with anyone. I know, it’s hard to tell since I’m so antisocial. I suppose that’s what depression is, although I have a hard time with the negative connotation associated with the word ‘depression.’

* * *

Yesterday, after picking my daughter up from school, she innocently asked from the back seat. “Daddy, what’s dot-dot-dot mean?”

I replied, “Do you mean an ellipsis, like in writing?”

“Yeah, I wrote a story in class, but the teacher told me I couldn’t use the dot-dot-dot…”

“Ellipsis.”

“Yeah, ellipsis. She said I couldn’t use the ellipsis unless I knew its name and how to use it. She made be erase all the ellipsis from my paper.”

Most of the twenty-plus minute drive home, the conversation was us giving examples of the proper usage of the ellipsis. I know, we’re dorks. The conversation eventually steered towards different points of view (she wrote her story in first person past-tense limited perspective.)

When we got home, she and I read my dialog only story, trading parts. Eventually she got bored and went outside to play.

Overall, yesterday was a great day. Erika and I are going to watch The Winter Soldier before we get the kids from school and after the lunch buffet at Peter Piper Pizza (I have a coupon!)

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

Leave a Reply

