Out of Shape

IMG_0569

This photo has nothing to do with this post, it’s just the most recent photo of me.

I am out of shape. It wasn’t always this way. I can look back to my active duty days, but I’m no different from any other veteran who’s been a civilian for for 17 years. Age and lifestyle just catches up with you. According to the body mass index, I’m about 40 pounds overweight. Men being overweight doesn’t have the same social stigma as it does for women, so I’ve been uninterested in changing my lifestyle to remedy my weight problem.

About 18 months ago, I tripped over a co-worker and messed up my leg. I damaged a tendon or a muscle or something. It took three months or so of physical therapy to be able to walk with only minor discomfort. As the days turned into weeks turned into months, I have reoccurring pain from that injury. When it flares up, I perform the exercises and stuff from the PT days and the pain reverts to the normal dull pain I’ve lived with.

At the end of August, I had some major pain and had to discontinue my regular walking and biking. After a few days the majority of the pain faded and I was left with an elevated level of pain. It wasn’t enough to prevent me from walking, but I was uninspired to continue walking and biking. Today, I’ve decided that despite the pain, I’m going to at least start biking again. For some reason, biking doesn’t hurt as much as walking. I’m gonna insist that my wife bikes with me to keep me riding.

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

Leave a Reply

