Blue With Envy

inMonster-badge

[281 words] Steph at bekindrewrite has been very supportive. I decided to do an experimental style and use all five prompts.

The long hello is something I’ve dreaded for six years now. Goodbye doesn’t phase me. Goodbye is what I deserve. Eyes focused on me. Each one says hello, but I can see the goodbye lurking. It’s just after the hello. They want the goodbye, they need the goodbye. They can’t have the goodbye without the hello. The long hello.

“Ouch! That hurt!”

The response is exactly what I expected: “You deserve more than a little pain.”

He thinks he has power over me. They all do. If they’d seen the things I’d seen, they would understand that their power is just an illusion. And a fragile illusion at that.

“Any last words?”

Last words? Surely they jest. “You wouldn’t let my words out there. You can’t.”

“No one would believe the ravings of a madwoman.”

“They’re so dependent on you. They actually fight for dependence.”

“They fought before you, and they’ll fight after you.”

Freedom… they wouldn’t know what to do with freedom. Generations of lies have tamed them.

“No response? Just as I suspected.”

The smile… It’s just the baring of teeth, but there’s so much more.

“Is the ‘H’ ready?”

“No, Sir, it appears to be trapped in the automat…”

“Report!”

“My mistake, Sir. The automatic injector is primed and ready.”

The blindfold is tied. I can hear the curtains creak closed. I’m ready to dance to the key of ‘H.’

“Execute.”

I feel the ‘H’ surge through my veins. I can’t breathe. If my jaw weren’t secured I might try to take in life. I’m cold. Despite the binding, my teeth chatter. I suspect my lips are blue. Craving life. Demanding life. But, they’re just blue with envy.

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

6 responses to “Blue With Envy

Leave a Reply

