16Sunsets – Confluence – III

500x750-16Sunsets

Major Jacob Globe stared at a looming forest. His R-C-M-P liaison stood in deference a few feet behind him. He held up a grainy image showing Kristof at the edge of these woods. Globe took a step towards the tree line.

“Sir,” the R-C-M-P liaison started with his best amicable smile, “I respectfully remind you that people have died from exploring this wilderness area unprepared. It’s unseasonably warm, and a lack of fresh snowfall has led more than one ordinary person to misjudge the difficulty of the ‘Great White North.'”

Globe turned to the young Mountie. “I’m not being frivolous. I’m no ordinary person.” He stepped away from the woods. “And this is no ordinary situation.”

“I understand, Sir, but there are millions of square kilometers here. Parts of these protected parks haven’t seen a human in years.”

Globe looked over his shoulder at the Canadian wilderness. “I’ve got to get my man, you know.”

The Mountie placed a hand of the Major’s shoulder. “If I may, Sir.” Globe nodded, so the young man continued. “You have considerable resources at your disposal.”

“You have no idea.”

“Yes, Sir, and I’m not privy to your organization or operation, but I’ve been instructed to allow you to operate in Canada without supervision.”

Globe smiled.

“It could take a team with the latest in surveillance gear more than two weeks to locate a single individual. And that assumes the individual wants to be found.”

Globe nodded. “I have at my disposal surveillance methods written about in science fiction.”

“Yes, Sir.”

Globe opened his cellular telephone. “Arrange for subject one-five-nine to meet me at my location.”

After he heard the response, he folded his phone and shoved it back into his pocket. He turned to the young Mountie and said, “Well, we’re together for the length of this operation. Where’s a good place to warm up?”

* * *

“What about Globe?”

Anne scowled, and looked at a map of lower British Columbia. “He’ll need assistance to locate anyone.” She waved her hand over the map. “I wish Bree was still with us.”

Justin nodded. “We’ve tried recovering her several times since her capture, but each attempt fails epically.”

Anne nodded. “Bree is a special little girl, but she’s easily swayed by trinkets and baubles.” Anne looked up to Justin. “Bree probably doesn’t want to be rescued by us.”

Justin exhaled sharply. “She’s gonna help Globe find Joaquin.”

Anne nodded. “We’ve got to find him first.”

“Why’s this kid so important?”

“I can’t explain it. There’s something about him.”

Justin stepped around the table and held Anne in his gloved hands. “I’ve not seen you this way since…”

“Since we left Globe’s organization,” she finished Justin’s sentence and stepped away from her occasional lover. She sat on an ornate chair. “Justin, do you know how old I am?”

Justin smiled. “I know better than to answer that.”

Anne rolled her eyes. “I’m almost two-thousand years old, Justin. I was the last ruler of the Jade Council.”

Justin nodded. “Two hundred years, right?”

Anne looked away. “One-hundred and ninety-seven years, thank you very much.” She looked back at the map. “The point is this: I’ve never felt this way about anyone before.”

“What about Temüjin or Ögedei?”

“Some monikers, huh?” Anne shook her head. “I was a different person then, less refined. But, to answer your question, no. Joaquin doesn’t know it yet, but he’s important.”

Justin leaned against a wall and crossed his arms.

“Don’t give me that look,” she whined. Whining wasn’t something she did very often, but she used her tools as they were appropriate.

Justin walked to Anne and embraced her. “We’ll find him,” he whispered into her ear.

“We better,” she replied, “because if we don’t, I’m afraid it’s the end for us all.”

16Sunsets – Confluence IV


[630/34,119 #3WW #RMMW]

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

6 responses to “16Sunsets – Confluence – III

Leave a Reply

