An interview with C. Edward Baldwin

C. Edward Baldwin

Last Wednesday, I reviewed The Rememberers, by C. Edward Baldwin. Here are his responses to my interview queries:

What was the one of the most surprising things you learned while writing Rememberers?
That the concept of Eternal Return has been around since man could think and communicate his thoughts. It was fun researching the book, and adding my thoughts to the mix. Some early readers have commended on the religious aspects of the story. And quite frankly, I’m puzzled by some of the feedback. I’m a Christian, but Rememberers is not a Christian book. It includes concepts from many different religions. I really don’t know how I could’ve written a story about eternal return, reincarnation, and demons, among other things, without including religion in the mix.

I noticed the current cover is different to an older cover for Rememberers, what gives?
The original cover was on the advance review copies of Rememberers. The response to it was extremely lukewarm. So, I had it redesigned. The response to the second cover has been overwhelmingly positive. It’s a simple cover. But people seem to like it. So, we’re rolling with it.

Can we expect a sequel to Rememberers? What project(s) are you currently working on?
Rememberers is actually a series opener. There are currently two additional planned parts. But if the project is widely accepted, I can envision other parts as well. But for now at least two more parts. I’ve outlined the second part and hopefully it’ll be completed sometime in 2016. But my current project is a crime thriller. The idea for it rushed to my head and pushed the second installment of Rememberers aside.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?
It was in college. My freshman English professor was the first one to put the idea in my head. She liked the way I wrote and also how I responded to the reading assignments. I was always one who looked for deeper meanings in books. So, it made for some very lively discussions.

How long does it take you to write a book?
When I finally decided to write my first book, Fathers House, it took me four years to complete. To be fair, I wasn’t writing everyday. But from first line to last line, four years. My second book, Rememberers, took seven months. By then I was confident and had a better idea of what I was doing and what I wanted the story to be. All of the things I was developing during the creation of Fathers House.

What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?
I’m a morning person. So generally my best writing takes place from 7 to 10 A.M. Then, at night around 10 to 11 P.M. after my boys are in bed and out the way, I’ll edit some things, or think about how I’m going to start the next day’s writing. I’m not a write all the way through to the end person. I write and edit. Write and edit, all the way to the end. That’s my style and what I’m comfortable with.

What does your family think of your writing?
My boys have no idea what I do for a living. As long as food is on the table and a roof is over their heads, they’re good to go. My wife is very supportive. Initially, she had her concerns. Writing is not an easy life, especially in the beginning. But she realized that this was something I was passionate about, and so she became passionate as well.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?
Like I mentioned earlier, I don’t write one complete cold draft. I tried that with my first book and it doesn’t work for me. I like to know where I’m going in a story. With Rememberers, although it’s a series, I thought the first book through from the beginning to the end, and stated from there. Now, as it was, the actual ending was different from what I’d envisioned initially; but that’s okay. At least I knew the general direction I was headed before I started. That’s pretty much the case with my current project as well.

What do you do when you’re not writing?
I’m a husband and father, so a lot of that time is spent with my family. During football and basketball seasons, I coach 7-9 year olds. I write full time now, so I have more time during the day to spend on my craft, or working on my author platform.

Do you have any suggestions for amateur or aspiring writers? If so, what are they?
The main thing I would say if you want to write is, WRITE. Writers are simply people who write. Don’t’ worry about genre, making money, or not making money, other people’s thought about you, whatever. Simply write your tale, and then let the chips fall where they may. And even then, continue writing. Also, read as much as you can in your spare time. I read three and four books at a time. Sometimes, I just like to see how other authors have handled different scenarios, whether it’s big things like plot and pacing, or little things like body movements during a two-person conversation in a scene—how to make the scene more than just lines of he said/she said. So, read a lot of things and write your thing is my advice.

Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?
I do and it’s great. I’m still fairly new to the game. I’m only on my yet to be released second book. But, I get comments from my website and also from places such as GoodReads. It’s a lot of the standard stuff like where do you get your inspiration. When is the next book coming out? Will it be part of a series? Obviously I don’t have a reader base as large as someone like John Grisham, so right now I can respond fairly quickly. As my fan base grows, I’ll still look for ways to respond in a timely fashion to as many readers as possible.

What other fiction influences your work?
Now I read just about anything. But, crime fiction, urban-fantasy, thriller/mysteries are what influence my writing and style of writing.

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

6 responses to “An interview with C. Edward Baldwin

Leave a Reply

