Nala’s Story, Week 5 Review

There are only a couple of installments left. Nala’s Story has been a fun experiment, and I may do something similar next year. Thanks to the readers at Web Fiction Guide, #WoW555 and my regular blog readers. I’ve enjoyed reading your comments and the encouraging emails.

After I write the last installment, I’ll let it marinade for a week or so. Then, I’ll rewrite it so the story flows smoother. Next, I’ll send it off to a trusted friend for her input and re-rewrite. Then I’ll finalize the cover art. I’ve been dealing with two different local artists, but they’ve been silent for about three weeks. If they don’t follow through, I’ll likely commission Joel Cotejar again. He did the 16Sunsets cover and the illustration of “future Nala.” I hope to have this novella published by August or September.

For those of you charting my wordsmithery progress, last week I wrote 2630 words bringing the total to 13,002. It looks like the web rough draft will be about a thousand words short of my 15k goal, but it’s no big deal. I’ll still get to within five percent of my goal with a week less writing.

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

Leave a Reply

