Memorial Day 2015

The extended family just left after spending several hours barbecuing, playing games and watching a Quantum Leap marathon on CoziTV. It was a blast, but I want everyone to remember what Memorial Day is all about. It is a day on which those who died in active military service are remembered. We don’t have to agree with with what our military does, or how our government chooses to use it, but it’s important to remember these young men and women who’ve sacrificed their lives for our freedom. As I am, both my parents are former military. I know at least one of my grandparents were, as well as several aunts, uncles, cousins, and nephews. I’m proud of my family that has served, as I know they are of me.

I hope those of you who know a Veteran, take a moment to remember those who are not with us today. While you’re at it, thanking a Veteran for his or her service goes a long way. Here are a two Veteran and Memorial Day events that are going on right now:

http://www.rockethub.com/projects/55111-support-the-uss-silversides-ww2-submarine-memorial
http://rappeters.com/2015/05/11/memorial-day-2015-charity-drive-by-military-veteran-authors/

There are other events going on across the country. If the campaigns I’ve mentioned don’t appeal to you, I hope you’d find a way to support our Veterans. In closing, I hope you and yours had a meaningful Memorial Day.

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

One response to “Memorial Day 2015

Leave a Reply

