An Interview with Jax Miller

Jax-Miller

On Tuesday I reviewed Freedom’s Child, by Jax Miller. She agreed to a quick interview, and this is that very thing:

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?
Good question! I’m not sure. I knew I liked dabbling in it while I was hitchhiking around the states in my early 20’s, but I really never saw it going anywhere. I think it was after the book deal, when people started to say that I might actually be decent at writing.

How long does it take you to write a book?
Freedom’s Child took me about a year because I only wrote sporadically. When I buckled down and finally became serious about it, it took me a couple of months. I’m nearing the end of book 2 now, and that’s 5 months.

What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?
I am a binge writer (if ever there were a term). I can go weeks without writing a word, or stay up for nearly 3 days with only bathroom breaks in between. I prefer nights, when I can be left alone, plus the fact that I’m light sensitive so it’s a bit easier.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?
I have elephant figurines I keep on my desk that have to be facing the office door when I write. I’m not even sure why.

What does your family think of your writing?
I think they were just as shocked as me about this book actually being published. LOL. But they’re supportive. Not sure if they understand it, but they support it.

Do you hear from your readers much?
Not yet, but I suppose it’s because the book is still fresh and not yet published. But I do look forward to hear what they have to say :)

What other fiction influences your work?
I think film is the biggest influence. In fact, I enjoy the movies more than books (as an author, this might be blasphemous). From a visual standpoint, I took from the westerns for this book. As far as words, I really wanted to resemble what a person might read in a graphic novel. A few reviewers have compared it to that kind of style, which makes me ecstatic! I definitely channeled some Frank Miller. No relation. ;)

Is there a message in Freedom’s Child that you want readers to grasp?
Actually, it’s funny. People ask what the book means to me, and they’re always surprised when I say it’s a story about one woman’s spiritual walk! Sure, it doesn’t have to be read as such. I don’t think people would pick that up unless being told. But I think it’s neat if the reader keeps that in the back of their mind.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in Freedom’s Child?
Hmmm…. There was a scene I had to take out that I would have liked to seen in there: Originally, Freedom had no money and had to scramble to get on the road. But it was taking her too long to get out of Painter, so I had to cut it. In the scene where we see Freedom attending to Mimi in the ambulance, Freedom originally locked herself in there and stuffed her pockets and bra with drugs, later selling them to Gunsmoke.

What project(s) are you currently working on?
The working title is ‘This Neck of the Woods.’ It’s a story about a 14 year old girl named Birdie Thibodeaux, the surviving daughter of a serial killer in the tidal regions of Virginia during the 1990’s. In an attempt to avenge her sister’s death and clear her father’s name, she’ll get neck-deep in the Mexican Cartel. It has all the crazy characters and strong voices of FC, but it’s much more of a murder mystery than Freedom.

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degree in Computer Systems and Applications and is currently attending Northern Arizona University. View all posts by Mark Gardner

2 responses to “An Interview with Jax Miller

Leave a Reply

