Thoughts for June

June is upon us. I was trying to come up with a blog topic, and a coworker suggested I blog about my plans for June. Not a bad idea, I thought, and I promptly forgot about it. I wanted to find a clever quote about June, so I could segue into the blog post and look more intelligent than I really am, but I’m just too lazy.

In June, I’ll be celebrating (that’s what my wife calls it) our sixteenth anniversary. I don’t know how she put up with me for all those years. Maybe she’s a time-traveler who has come from the future where I’m bigger than J.K. Rowling and Steven King combined, and has decided to set herself up as my first wife… Hey, I write sci-fi, ya know?

The hardcover of Champion Standing should be out the end of this month. It’ll be $24.99, and the dust jacket I showed you all before looks awesome. I hope Miss Alister gets her chapter of the Beginnings Project up this month. I’m eager to write chapter twelve, whatever it may be. As long as Miss A gets hers done, I’ll do mine the following week. Joel Cotejar will be working on the art for Nala’s Story in the next few weeks. I have an idea on what I want, but Joel seems to know what I need.

I’m going to try to take Alyssa to the local gaming store on Fridays in June so she can practice her mad skillz against someone other than her father. Anthony’s fifteenth birthday is the same as my anniversary, He usually gets to pick what we do for breakfast, and I think the plan is to go to see the new Jurassic movie. The anniversary usually gets overshadowed by his birthday, but Erika wants to go to a local Steak House and be a couple if only for an hour or so.

At the station, June is the month that we prepare for the monsoon season, so I’ll be hella busy. My buddy at GameStop wants me to work in his store, but I haven’t worked there in about nine months, so I’ll need to be retrained or something. The pool at the community center has already opened, so I expect I’ll take the kids there the Saturdays in June. I can’t think of anything else June-specific, so I’ll just end this post with a random June quote:

“There are moments, above all on June evenings, when the lakes that hold our moons are sucked into the earth, and nothing is left but wine and the touch of a hand.”
-Charles Morgan

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

5 responses to “Thoughts for June

  • Kate Loveton

    I loved the remark about your wife being a time traveler! Too funny. Happy anniversary!

  • Miss Alister

    Erika still calls it a celebration because you’re a Spot Shot gunslinger which gives you enduring appeal—like Clint Eastwood’s Dirty Harry extolling the virtues of the 44 Magnum—and she feels lucky.
    Me, I feel lucky to have survived my last month-long project which ended with 2 week’s-worth of 3 and 4 a.m. bedtimes. And this is how I know that, in this neck of the woods, it gets light then and the bloody birds start their racket!
    But! You’ll be pleased to know I’m back at my Beginnings chapter which might set your brain spinning, so begin now to gather the right gear for it: tongue depressor, benzodiazepine injections, etc. ; )

    • Mark Gardner

      Well, I’m prepared to follow up your beginnings chapter with another the first full weekend after yours!
      Spot Shot works on everything: blood, mud, dog puke, dog poop… the list is endless. You just need to make sure you use a brush with bristles 1.25 times as deep as your carpet. Circular scrubbing, followed by letting it set for 30 minutes. Then make sure your vacuum the spot once it dries.

Leave a Reply

