I Take You, by Eliza Kennedy

I-Take-You

Meet Lily Wilder: New Yorker, lawyer extraordinaire, blushing bride. And totally incapable of being faithful to one man. Lily’s fiancé Will is a brilliant, handsome archaeologist. Lily is sassy, impulsive, fond of a good drink (or five) and has no business getting married. Lily likes Will, but does she love him? Will loves Lily, but does he know her? As the wedding approaches, Lily’s nights—and mornings, and afternoons—of booze, laughter and questionable decisions become a growing reminder that the happiest day of her life might turn out to be her worst mistake yet. Unapologetically sexy with the ribald humor of Bridesmaids, this joyously provocative debut introduces a self-assured protagonist you won’t soon forget.

There were quite a few negative reviews of this book. I thought about reading it several times, but was unable to pull the trigger. When I saw it was available from Blogging For Books, I decided to throw caution to the wind and give it a shot.

I suspect a lot of the low-star reviews were due to the readers being uncomfortable with the subject matter. A confidant woman likes to have sex with different partners, but has decided to accept a marriage proposal. During the week before her wedding, she learns about her family, her life and what marriage means.

Some of the scenes portrayed in this book shocked me. Some offended me. Some of the logic employed by many of the characters was flawed at best. But that’s the world we live in. It’s not a world of black and white, right and wrong, good and evil. We live in a world with a multitude of grey.

I like that the book offended me. I like that I envisioned my reactions to the situations contained within. I like that the book challenged the noble institution of marriage. And I’ve been married for sixteen years.

There were some seriously steamy scenes in this book. I wouldn’t categorize it as erotica, just some very well done sex scenes. Lily is a drunk. Her friends seem hedonistic and amoral. But, and I’ve said this so many times before, books are supposed to make us think. Piss us off and tug at our heartstrings. This book does just that.

This is a solid four-star read that won’t appeal to everyone. I liked it, and I recommend it to anyone who wants a more hedonistic Bridget Jones. The blurb holds nothing back, so no one should be surprised by what’s beneath the yellow dust jacket.

Eliza-Kennedy

Eliza Kennedy attended the University of Iowa and Harvard Law School, where she was an editor of the Harvard Law Review. After graduation she served as a law clerk for a federal judge, then practiced litigation for several years at a prestigious Manhattan law firm. She lives in New York with her husband and son.

Amazon
Goodreads
http://www.lilywilder.com
Twitter

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

2 responses to “I Take You, by Eliza Kennedy

Leave a Reply

