Trespass, by Mikey Campling

Trespass

Three stories, separated by five thousand years, united by one deadly secret: Somewhere, sometime, the stone is waiting. Trespass combines gritty, edgy modern-day action with a thrilling adventure across time. Discovered over 5,000 years ago, the Darkeningstone affects everyone who finds it. Jake was too smart to believe the rumors about Scaderstone Pit, but now he’s in more danger than he could ever have imagined. In 1939, as World War II looms, the lives of two men will be changed forever. Over 5,000 years ago, a hermit will keep the stone a secret. But someone is watching him – someone with murder in his heart. When it finds you, what will you see when you look into The Darkeningstone?

Somewhere, sometime, the stone is waiting. The premise of Trespass is an interesting one. A mysterious stone exists outside of the space-time continuum and wrecks havoc on three different timelines. The book has a cliff-hanger, but unfortunately, I just don’t care about Jake, the main protagonist, throughout the book to raise the righteous indignation of the story having no conclusion. I found the Jake character boring, and his apparent cowardly behavior to be frustrating and annoying. This is not necessarily a bad thing. And Jake wasn’t even likable the way pre-super serum Steve Rogers was portrayed in the first most recent Captain America film. At least, Steve Rogers wasn’t going to quit no matter who kicked his scrawny butt.

As a reader, I want to connect with a character. I want to dislike the villains and cheer the heroes. Some books have made me cheer the villains and dislike the heroes. The hopping from time-to-time was fun, but I found myself wishing the Jake stories would hurry up so I could get to the true gems in this book: pre-war 1939 and 3,000 BCE.

Those two storylines were fantastic. I felt the 1939 characters a touch clichéd, but the Neolithic culture and story was top shelf. The 3,000 BCE story reminded me of Children of the Comet, by Donald Moffitt. I would be an eager reader of a sequel if the adventures of those characters were continued. The saving grace for the 2010 timeline was the young female college student Jake meets in the quarry. If she’s not in the sequel, all bets are off. Which is saying a lot, since her character was only in a chapter or two.

The biggest complaint I have about Trespass is that there was a lot of head-hopping going on. More than once, I had to re-read a page or paragraph because the POV had shifted, and I was stuck in the previous POV. This broke down the flow and popped me out of the narrative. I think a bit of formatting would alleviate this issue.

I did read online that there is a prequel, and I’d likely be interested in reading that, as well as book 2 as long as my demands are met :-) I’d probably rate Trespass a solid 3.5 stars, but I wouldn’t bump it up to four stars on Goodreads. I would go to four stars on Amazon based on what the star ratings mean. On this blog, I’m gonna break my rule and call it 3.5 stars. The issues I mentioned kept it out of four-star territory but weren’t so terrible that it needed a smack back to the three-star realm. I already have another Mikey Campling book to be read in the near future, and I look forward to seeing what he does with it.

Mikey-Campling

On Mikey’s first day at school he discovered the wondrous world that is The Book Corner, and he has never really left it. On writing, Mikey says: “I love the savage magic of wordcraft – it’s edgy, exciting and much harder work than everyone thinks.” He lives in the UK on the edge of the wilds of Dartmoor, with his wife, two children, and black Labrador called Lottie. He has more books than are strictly necessary, but not quite enough to have his house reclassified as a library. Apparently.

Amazon
Goodreads
http://mikeycampling.com/
Twitter

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degree in Computer Systems and Applications and is currently attending Northern Arizona University. View all posts by Mark Gardner

2 responses to “Trespass, by Mikey Campling

  • Paul Wandason

    I didn’t mind the rapid changes in the point of view so much, but it really irritated me that generally the plot didn’t seem to go anywhere and left me making up my own ending.

    Excellent point about lack of connection with Jake. I wonder if he’s more appealing to younger readers? I think the connection he made with Cally is certainly the part of this plot line with the most potential – I was disappointed that it petered out into nothingness, but pleased to read in the Afterword that she’s a major character in the next two novels.

    That said, I’m not sure I’d invest any more of my time with follow up novels (or prequels) for fear that they’d likewise take me nowhere, despite the good writing style.

    • Mark Gardner

      I never did get around to requesting a review copy of Outcast. I almost never read the afterword, so I wasn’t aware that Cally was supposed to have a prominent role in the sequel. I’d probably give Outcast a read just to read her character.

Leave a Reply

