Kindness

I’ve been playing Runescape, by JagEx for about seven years now. I’ve rolled with the changes, and in the last two or so years, I’ve not been as diligent playing. They have a free version of the game and a paid version of the game. In the last seven years, I’ve ponied up the dough to get a membership a few times. You get to keep you progress when your membership expires, you just can’t use any of your member’s stuff. Anthony told me that JagEx had introduced a way to purchase a membership through the in-game currency, so after not playing for about nine months, I purchased a two-week membership. When my membership expired, I got to keep playing as a member until I logged out or died. I was talking about this fact to other players, and another player spent real world money to buy me a membership. Completely unexpected, and greatly appreciated.

It’s easy to be a cynic in this modern world of in-your-face media who’s only job is to scare you. It’s refreshing to see someone do something for someone else without expecting anything in return. This player didn’t know anything about me, but was willing to help a fellow gamer and human being out. So, help someone out if you can. Hopefully, some good karma will end up heading your way.

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degree in Computer Systems and Applications and is currently attending Northern Arizona University. View all posts by Mark Gardner

6 responses to “Kindness

  • Linda

    “Whose,” not “who’s.”

  • Greg Dragon

    Wow, that’s awesome. Moments of kindness from strangers tends to make me freeze in my tracks. I’ve been frozen a lot in the last few years and it keeps me paying it forward. Very cool story.

  • mountainlion2

    Reminds of my time as a MTG player first getting cards from older players then as I acquired my stash give cards away. C and UC, and some R, mean little when you have stacks of them, but to new and poor players it can mean the world.

    • Mark Gardner

      Yeah, I’d often win boosters when playing FNM or something. I usually didn’t need any of the cards, so I sought out new players and gave them the cards. I spent a significant amount of time helping them build decks that actually worked too!

Leave a Reply

