Infinite Time, by H.J. Lawson

InfiniteTIme

The mission sounds easy enough, but it is anything but easy for Parker Jenkins. Yesterday, ordinary, poverty-stricken Parker was an ordinary high school kid, getting bullied relentlessly and trying to get by. Today, he’s a time traveler with gifted powers expected to carry out the extraordinary. Teaming up with another time traveler, Scarlet, they must save an innocent girl on the run before the villains kill them all. If they don’t, their present-day selves will die. But can the ordinary perform the extraordinary?

If I see a time travel book on NetGalley, I’ll request it. An issue I ran into was that the copy provided by NetGalley had a different cover and title, and I was left scratching my noggin looking for Infinite Time when I started reading it.

The Good: Time travel. It’s always fun to see a modern-day character thrust into past times. I imagine the befuddled wide-eyed amazement that a character would experience to be humorous.

The Bad: Probably due to the cover, but I had initially assumed that Parker was female, and it wasn’t until halfway through the book that I realized he wasn’t. There were also a few plot holes that are often found in time-travel stories. There was even a moment that the book seemed to contradict the rules established by the narrative. I suppose that’s commonplace in a lot of stories out there. (Why did Harry Potter survive his encounter with he who should not be named?)

The Ugly: I found it very difficult to suspend my disbelief. There were just too many coincidences in the story to really grok it. Scarlet’s character was too well prepared for every situation that they encountered. The villains were, unfortunately, clichéd, but that’s to be expected in a temporal cold war-style story. I didn’t find any of the characters likable and had no investment in them. Although the immediate story seemed to conclude with the ending of the book, for a reason I can’t quite place, I found it unsatisfying.

The Final Word: I didn’t feel as if my time were wasted reading Infinite Time. My quibbles aside, it was still a fun read. This 3.5-star read will have to be lowered to three stars on sites that don’t allow fractional star ratings. I would still read a sequel to this story, but I would be more interested in the “current time” ramifications of Parker and his ability.

hjlawson

HJLawson is an English author who currently resides in New York. When she’s not writing, she spends her time watching movies and hanging out with her family. She is the author of the following young adult books: The War Kids Series and The Sanction Series.

Amazon
Goodreads
http://www.hjlawson.com/
Twitter

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degree in Computer Systems and Applications and is currently attending Northern Arizona University. View all posts by Mark Gardner

Leave a Reply

