Talkin’ up Greg Dragon

Greg-Dragon-2

Today, I want to plug fellow writer, and co-author of Days Until Home, Greg Dragon. I’ve reviewed books two and three of his “Next Phase” sci-fi series, and both companion novels in his futuristic “Wired” series. (Re-Wired & Single Wired Female.) I saw on his website that he’s 5% into something called “Wireless.” I hope it’s another companion novel in the “Wired” series, but I haven’t bothered him about it yet. (Maybe he’ll reply here and tell us all!)

Greg is a relationship blogger, fantasy writer (I’ve not read his Knights and Demons series because fantasy isn’t my bag), and all-around swell guy. I got an email newsletter from him that he has some audiobooks out now, and if you haven’t already joined his mailing list, then I’m afraid you’ve missed out on some free audiobooks. No worries though, if you head to his website, you can get his novella, Population Control, for free. Back to audiobooks, if you sign up for audible, and one of Greg’s audiobooks is the first thing you get, he gets a referral fee. They call it a bounty, but it could be up to $50 for him. The next series of his I plan on reading is The Factory, and the upcoming sequel, Gun Moll.

We’ll also start the editing and revisions on Days Until Home in 2017, and I have a soft commitment from Greg and David to write a companion web serial probably in 2018.

Anyway, be sure to check out Greg Dragon’s books. Follow him on Twitter. Do whatever it is you Facebook people do. Finally, check out his article on Self Publishing, Diversity in Books, his views on the Days Until Home web serial, and an interview I did with him. Or, just click here to see stuff about or by Greg on this blog.

Amazon
Goodreads
http://gregdragon.com/
Twitter

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degree in Computer Systems and Applications and is currently attending Northern Arizona University. View all posts by Mark Gardner

2 responses to “Talkin’ up Greg Dragon

  • Greg Dragon

    Geez Mark, I seriously have no words. Your generosity knows no bounds, and I appreciate you more than you know. I’ve been in a dungeon since Days Until Home due to committing to the second season of Knights and Demons only to find that I was in trouble.

    My mind was hungry for cyberpunk worlds, descriptions, and stories, yet there I was locked into a monthly release for an Urban Fantasy series that has shifted into Epic Fantasy… I’ve been challenged before, but that was a task, especially since I didn’t want to rush the serial, or jump the shark like many of my favorite television shows (looking at you Tyrant, sigh).

    I said it before but I want to reiterate the most important thing that collaborating for Days Until Home taught me. How to write under the gun. Being self-published and having a day job is akin to being employed and having a side-hustle… basically if you don’t feel like doing said side hustle once in a while, you don’t have to. This makes it easy to lean on things like “writer’s block” or being uninspired.

    With Days, I had the two of you relying on me to do my part. There were times when I saw a Tweet and was like “oh damn, it’s frikken Wednesday,” and I had to drop everything, read the chapter, and shake off the lazy to write. This experience made it possible for me to complete season 2 of Knights and Demons despite my mind not being ready for fantasy.

    I’m not sure if there will be a season 3, but I left it open just in case I want to…

    The Factory

    I’m curious to know what you think about this book, Mark… based on reader feedback it’s beginning to feel like my magnum opus. This has me with mixed feelings since I love to write Science Fiction, and The Factory is True Crime in fiction form… I do read and study organized crime more than I probably should, and sometimes I wonder if I should just write what I know … anyway, let me know what you think of it – I mostly vomited up that book from past events in my life. Maybe it’s the first-person perspective that makes people like it, but I would love to get your take.

    Population Control

    At around the same time as Days Until Home, I signed up with a group on Facebook to contribute a story to someone else’s SciFi world. It was a great world, and I was happy to contribute, but was turned off by the way the collaboration was handled. As self-published authors we avoid much of the waiting just to be rejected that the publishing world offers. In this collaboration–which was self published–I dealt with that same rejection with Population Control.

    Eight months, and several edits, all to hear that I didn’t make the final cut. It has made me more careful about who I work with, and more importantly, it made me want to work on my short story chops.

    One colab that has been a godsend is with David VanDyke’s Apocalyptic Fears series. If you like post-apocalyptic and want to try out new authors, please take a look at Apocalyptic Fears VI (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LYPBTG7)

    • Mark Gardner

      I firmly believe in the old adage, “A rising tide lifts all ships.” If anyone cares what I think, and my tiny ramblings into the wind get you a few more followers or sales, then I’m happy to do so.

      When I was writing the sequel to Body Rentals, I got 30k into the book and realized that no one had swapped bodies, so I rewrote it as a murder mystery. I had to do a lot of research into organized crime, so I’m looking forward to The Factory.

Leave a Reply

