A story about David Kristoph

David Kristoph

In keeping up with the tradition this week of not reviewing books on my regular book review days, I’m gonna tell a story about Days Until Home co-author, David Kristoph. I’ve reviewed all five books of his Tales of a Dying Star space sci-fi series. (I II III IV V) I’ve also reviewed his “choose your own adventure-” style books that he and Danny McAleese teamed up to write. I know that he has the sixth TOADS book dropping before the end of the year and there are a few books on his “in progress” page that I want to read.

On to the story: I first encountered David Kristoph when TOADS #1 was on NetGalley. I wasn’t a raving fan of the story, and in particular, I didn’t like the ending of the book. So I said as much in my review. Now, while I always recommend that authors never respond to reviews, David dropped me an email and asked for additional input about what I didn’t like about his book. He kept it professional, and as long as he did so, I tried to answer his questions.

We agreed to disagree about the ending, and he offered to send me review copies of books two and three. As you all know, I’m a sucker for sci-fi, so I jumped at the opportunity. Book two was better than book one, as was book three. I went from “it’s okay” to harassing him to finish up the next book so I could read it. Quite the turn of events, eh? He doesn’t have any audiobooks, so maybe Greg and I should work him over to get it done. I’m glad that I got to know David, and when it came time for the collaborative web serial, Days Until Home, I knew I wanted David on board. BTW, a paperback version of the web serial is available on CreateSpace.

I’m hoping David gets his other two books he’s shopping around because I want to read those as well. I’m looking forward to editing and revising Days Until Home in 2017, and I have a soft commitment from Greg and David to write a companion web serial probably in 2018.

Be sure to check out David’s works. The Ultimate Ending series is appropriate for children as well as adults, and be sure to read TOADS from the beginning. Finally, check out this article he put together for my blog, and an interesting article about self-publishing he wrote on his blog. I also interviewed him about the TOADS series, and him with Danny McAleese about Ultimate Ending. Don’t forget his thoughts on writing Days Until Home with Greg Dragon and me. Click here for blog posts by and about David Kristoph.

Amazon
Goodreads
http://www.davidkristoph.com/
Twitter

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

Leave a Reply

