Infinity, by Jus Accardo

infinity

There are three things Kori knows for sure about her life: One: Her army general dad is insanely overprotective. Two: The guy he sent to watch her, Cade, is way too good-looking. Three: Everything she knew was a lie. Now there are three things Kori never knew about her life: One: There’s a device that allows her to jump dimensions. Two: Cade’s got a lethal secret. Three: Someone wants her dead.

I’ve always been a sci-fi fan, so when I saw a parallel worlds story on NetGalley, I requested it right away. Parallel worlds have been done in the past. Sometimes excellent: Sliders seasons 1 & 2. Sometimes poorly: Long Earth #4. I’m afraid that Jus Accardo’s foray into the trope was just okay.

My biggest issue with Infinity was that there were no adventures romping through parallel worlds. The characters talked about it briefly and described a few of the worlds, but the author never took us to another world. I’d be willing to say that because this first story is more of an introduction to the series, the lack of world-hopping can be excused. I’d pick up the second book when it comes out, but if it too has no world-hopping, or spends the entirety of the story in one world, then it’d lose me as a reader.

There was quite a bit of teenage angst, and a sloppy romance angle thing going on. A few situations had me scratching my noggin trying to suspend my disbelief, and although the author attempts to explain the motives behind the villain, the motivation was hard to swallow. The premise of the story was interesting but fell a bit short of the execution.

Overall, I didn’t feel that I wasted my time reading Infinity. I will admit that after about 50% of my read, I received an ARC of another book I wanted to read, and I just wanted to get Infinity done so I could start on the other book.

Sci-fi fans will probably like Infinity, by Jus Accardo. I suspect that the parallel world adventures will pick up in book two. I’d rate Infinity three and a half stars.

jus-accardo

JUS ACCARDO spent her childhood reading and learning to cook. Determined to follow in her grandfather’s footsteps as a chef, she applied and was accepted to the Culinary Institute of America. But at the last minute, she realized her true path lay with fiction, not food. Jus is the bestselling author of the popular Denazen series from Entangled publishing, as well as the Darker Agency series, and the New Adult series, The Eternal Balance. A native New Yorker, she lives in the middle of nowhere with her husband, three dogs, and sometimes guard bear, Oswald.

Amazon
Goodreads
http://www.jusaccardo.com/
Twitter

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degree in Computer Systems and Applications and is currently attending Northern Arizona University. View all posts by Mark Gardner

Leave a Reply

