War of the Worlds: Retaliation

Chinese cover

I’m sure that I’ve mentioned that John J. Rust and I collaborated on a Historical Fiction sequel to H. G. Wells’ The War of the Worlds. I know I’ve bragged that NYT #1 Best Selling author, James Rollins, liked it. I’m stoked to report that sales are brisk, and we broke the 20k threshold in the Amazon kindle store over the weekend. You already know that the digital, paperback, and hardcover all came out in January. The Spanish paperback and ebook came out this month. March will see the release of the audiobook narrated by Samuel Hoke. April is the German paperback and ebook. And the Chinese version should be out in January 2018. I know, I know, I won’t shut up about my book. It what we authors sometimes do…

John and I are so psyched that this story resonates with so many people. We’ve gotten some really awesome and thoughtful reviews on Amazon US & UK. We have a few glowing five-star reviews, and I want to thank each and every one of you that took the time to read and review. As authors, there’s an unwritten rule that we’re not supposed to respond to reviews, so I have to thank you all here instead of on Amazon or GoodReads. I wanted to remind those of you who are interested, but haven’t yet pulled the trigger, that the $5.99 Kindle version is an introductory price, and after the Amazon infamous 90-day cliff, the price will go up. Also, for those of you who are retailers, the 55% wholesale discount on the hardcover will also end on the same date.

John and I will be at the Payson Book Festival in late July. It occurred to me that I’ve never introduced you blog denizens to John. That’s a gross oversight on my part since without him, War of the Worlds: Retaliation would not exist. Here’s John’s official bio:

John J. Rust was born in New Jersey. He studied broadcasting and journalism at Mercer County Community College in New Jersey and the College of Mount St. Vincent in New York. He moved to Arizona in 1996, where he works as the Sports Director for an Arizona radio group.

For those of you who know about my background, yes, John and I work for the same radio group in Arizona. I’m blessed to both work with John and write with him. I hope you’ll check out his works, including his sea monster novel, Sea Raptor, published by Severed Press. I know that John has a sequel to his military/political thriller coming out this year. He’s also a sports nerd, and has written two different non-fiction sports books.

Anyway, The english trailer and the audiobook prologue are after the jump, so please share these on Twitter and Facebook. Heck, I’d be happy if you shouted it from the corner at passers by.

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degree in Computer Systems and Applications and is currently attending Northern Arizona University. View all posts by Mark Gardner

7 responses to “War of the Worlds: Retaliation

  • The Urban Spaceman

    *nabs Kindle version on Amazon*

    Now I have the urge to find what the heck I did with my paperback copy of WotW and read them back to back!

    • Mark Gardner

      I hope you made a Scooby-Doo style “Zoinks” when you purchased it! It’s a shame that your Earth operations headquarters is in NL, I’d totally hook you up with an autographed paperback if the shipping to you wasn’t astronomical. (Get it? Astronomical!)

      • The Urban Spaceman

        Mark, your puns are out of this world! If my spaceship ever passes over your area of the world, I’ll beam down all my paperback books and threaten to abduct you unless you sign them all. :P

      • Mark Gardner

        It’s interesting that you used “beamed.” I just recommended to an author friend of mine to use a different word so her sci-fi didn’t sound to “Star Trekky.” Anyway, no threats of abduction needed, I’ll happily sign all the paper you have!

      • The Urban Spaceman

        My ship uses Particle Matter Transitioning, but I’m lazy, and beamed is so much faster to type. Mr. Roddenberry had the right idea. Can you imagine Kirk standing in the midst of some terrible planetary catastrophe, whipping out his communicator, and shouting, “Particle Matter Transition me up, Scotty, and hurry!”

      • Mark Gardner

        As a proper Trekkie, I think I’m contractually obligated to point out that Kirk never said, “Beam me up, Scotty.”

      • The Urban Spaceman

        And I have to admit, I’ve watched every episode of TNG, DS9, Voyager and Enterprise at least twice… but only a handful of TOS. I feel dirty. :(

Leave a Reply

