More of Me, by Kathryn Evans

more-of-me

Teva’s life seems normal: school, friends, boyfriend. But at home she hides an impossible secret. Eleven other Tevas. Because once a year, Teva separates into two, leaving a younger version of herself stuck at the same age, in the same house… watching the new Teva live the life that she’d been living. But as her seventeenth birthday rolls around, Teva is determined not to let it happen again. She’s going to fight for her future. Even if that means fighting herself.

 

I have a pretty regular reading schedule. I know how long it should take me to read a book based on page counts. When a book is engrossing, I end up breaking my reading rules and reading more. I almost finished Kathryn Evans’ More of Me in a single night. The book is compelling, and finding a chapter break that I could stop for the night was almost impossible.

The story deals with many issues and worries that teenagers have before “officially” becoming adults. Relationships, the future, past mistakes, and family secrets are already pretty tough for sixteen-year-old Teva, but toss in her “condition,” and you just have to keep flipping pages to find out what happens next.

What happens is a taut thriller with mystery elements wrapped up in a science fiction young adult novel. I was a bit skeptical with the premise, but it quickly captured me and wouldn’t let go. I’m glad I took a chance on this story when I saw it on NetGalley.

I wasn’t sure about Teva’s reality several times in the story. Like Paul Cleave’s Trust No One, I kept flip-flopping to what I thought was really going on. The author dropped enough clues and red herrings, which kept me engrossed throughout.

More of Me is definitely a five-star read, and when you start it, make sure you have time to read the whole thing. The kindle version doesn’t come out until June 13th, but the paperback can be had now for just over ten dollars including shipping.

kathryn-evans

Following a degree in drama and a short career in theatre, Kathryn Evans quickly realised she was likely to starve unless she got a proper job. She didn’t get a proper job, she married a farmer and set up a strawberry farm. And now she’s writing books, will she never learn?

Amazon
Goodreads
https://mrsbung.wordpress.com
Twitter

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degree in Computer Systems and Applications and is currently attending Northern Arizona University. View all posts by Mark Gardner

Leave a Reply

