Discord, by Katy Haye

Beth forgot her past. What if there’s nothing to remember? Beth has spent six months at the remote Steptoe House in the English countryside and still can’t remember a single thing from before her car accident. The doctors say that’s normal. They say traumatic brain injuries heal at their own pace and insist the music therapy they prescribe to their patients is the key to recovery. But something is off at Steptoe House and Beth can feel it. There’s a wrongness there — a discord between what is and what should be. Strange voices echo down the halls at night and shifting shadows beckon. And Beth doesn’t dare tell anyone she’s been talking to ghosts. So, when new patient Toby arrives, she’s relieved to find a friend she can trust, a confidant to share her ghosts with. Plus, he’s really cute. Together, they will tackle the mystery of Steptoe House and uncover more than either of them ever bargained for.

I saw Discord, by Katy Haye on Netgalley, and I decided to give it a try. I’ve read some really interesting sci-fi lately with protagonists with memory loss and/or brain damage. It’s interesting to see how different authors handle this serious issue in society – even in future societies. I don’t know if this is because I’m finally graduating this May with a mental health undergraduate degree, or if I’m just a weirdo.

Not to worry, Discord is an easy read for many age groups. The story just doesn’t make sense for about the first two-thirds of the book. Not in a way that I couldn’t follow the narrative, but in a way that the narrative just confounded me. Elements that I read were just a little bit off, and my expectations were constantly challenged. It was as if I were an anthropologist that had all these ideas of how a story should be, and then I got to experience the story, and many of my ideas didn’t quite match up. I was close, but not exact.

Any way, enough rambling. Discord is an odd story. I totally dug it, and some of my complaints about teen angst and relationships are likely due to the very small suite of characters. One you read the reveal, and the oddities make sense, Discord is a cool sci-fi foray, and for 99-cents, you should pick it up for a read. I’d read the sequel, Dissent, when it comes out in just over a week. I’d rate Discord four stars for a rather interesting method of storytelling.

Katy Haye spends as much time as possible in either her own or someone else’s imaginary worlds. She has a fearsome green tea habit, a partiality for dark chocolate brazils and a fascination with the science of storytelling. When not lost in a good book, Katy may be found on her allotment growing veg and keeping hens in order to maximise her chances of survival in the event of a zombie apocalypse or similar catastrophe (you never know!).

Amazon
Goodreads
https://katyhaye.com
Twitter

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

Leave a Reply

