Canned questions with Aaron Frale

I read and reviewed Atmospheric Pressure, by Aaron Frale, and he consented to an interview. He writes sci-fi and a little bit of absurdist humor. Check out his stuff with the links below!

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?
When I wrote a story about skeletons chasing a dude in elementary school. My friends kept requesting the story at sleepovers.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?
I usually try to inject comedy in just about everything I write. I really appreciate it when Sci Fi and Fantasy writers don’t take themselves too seriously, and it shows up in the writing. Though there are some stories where the comedy doesn’t quite fit, so it depends on the story.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?
That’s a good question. I’ve sacrificed a lot of my free time in order to write. However, I do like nerd games. Recently, I’ve been playing the X-Wing Miniatures game.

In one sentence, tell us all about Atmospheric Pressure.
A dystopian novel about greed, cronyism, and the dangers of climate change run amok.

What inspired you to write the book?
I worked in downtown Minneapolis, and it intrigued me that you could walk from one end of the downtown to the other without ever going outside. I thought to myself, “What if you could never leave the skyways?”

Is there a sequel on the horizon?
It’s at the editor right now.

How long does it take you to write a book?
It depends on the book. It took me over a year to write the sequel to Atmospheric Pressure. Whereas this other book took me a little over a month from conception to the stage where I’m at now with the sequel to Atmospheric Pressure. Sometimes, it clicks and my fingers can’t type fast enough. Other times, I have to let it stew for a while.

What have you learned about writing now that you have several stories out?
So many things! But here are few bullet points. 1. Do your research, 2. Pay for ads, 3. Pay for an editor, and 4. Writing is a long-term game. Very few have their first works become break away hits. Stephen King had a giant nail on his wall full of rejection. I’m lucky that I came from a theatre/film back ground, so I got to learn about character development, plot, dialogue and all those craft things before I even attempted my first novel. For me, the marketing and business end of writing has been a steep learning curve. Just focus on improving one aspect at a time.

Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?
I do get emails and messages on social media. Probably the most were from Time Burrito. People love to show their appreciation when you can make them laugh. Most others are usually asking about sequels. I love hearing from them, because it keeps me going.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in Atmospheric Pressure?
Yeah, I’d probably tone down social commentary and increase the pace of the book. I think there were some passages in there than went on to long focusing on the injustices of their society. I also think I’ve gotten more crisp with my sentence structure

Tell us about future writing projects.
Atmospheric Pressure 2 will be out later this year or early next year. I also got a YA Fantasy/Sci-Fi coming out. They are both with different editors right now. It depends on which one gets back to be first as to which one will come out first. If you want to be the first know, sign up for my mailing list at aaronfrale.com. I’ll give you some free short stories just for joining.

Aaron’s first novel is Playlist of the Ancient Dead. He also co-wrote a no-budget comedy flick called Hamlet the Vampire Slayer. The University of New Mexico gave him an MFA in Dramatic Writing. Screaming and playing guitar for the prog/metal band is one of his pastimes. He lives with his wife Felicia, two cats, and a small dog who thinks he’s a large dog.

Amazon
Goodreads
http://wontchangetheworld.com/
Twitter

About Mark Gardner

Mark Gardner lives in northern Arizona with his wife, three children and a pair of spoiled dogs. Mark holds a degrees in Computer Systems and Applications and Applied Human Behavior. View all posts by Mark Gardner

Leave a Reply

